The concept of a CME consortiuim dedicated to optimizing medical
care and public health came about in the late l970's through the
efforts of Lewis-Gale Hospital chief pathologist Dr. Anthony V.
Torre and internist Dr. Michael Moore. Their bimonthly clinic-
pathologic conferences became so popular among medical staff that
they morphed into a formal CME organization in November 1982.
Originally known as the Lewis-Gale Consortium, its initial Medical 
Society of Virginia (MSV) accreditation was for six years.

In l997, the addition of Allehany Regional Hospital, Clinch Valley Medical Center, Montgomery Regional Hospital and Pulaski Community Hospital to the consortium broadened outreach in southwestern Virginia and made it a key player among the dozen accredited CME providers in the Commonwealth.

Its seven current components are LewisGale Medical Center, 
LewisGale Physicians (previously known as Lewis-Gale Clinic), 
Health Focus of Southwest Virginia (formerly known as The Lewis-Gale 
Medical Foundation), LewisGale Hospital Alleghany, LewisGale Hospital Montgomery, and LewisGale Hospital Pulaski

Informed by increasing physician and quality assurance input, and directed by our Planning and Evaluation Committee, our administrator and component coordinators do the logistics for a growing array of high-quality CME events. These events have interdisciplinary or specialty appeal, and occur in convenient locations around the area. They have included monthly lunchtime lectures, tumor boards, hands-on courses, teleconferences, grand rounds, and weekend conferences. Emphasis on evidence-based practices and outcome improvements are increasingly prominent themes of our organization's CME.

Each organizational component is guided by a physician and coordinator. The fact that all involved members can phone into the Planning Committee or the quarterly Board meetings (anywhere from Africa to Alaska!) increases attendance and input. Resultant discussions and decisions direct our business and serve to maintain compliance with ACCME guidelines for our Category 1 CME offerings.

Year 2007 brought major shifts in organizational leadership. Dr. John S. DeVerter, retired psychiatrist who had served as Co-chairman for many years, retired from the Board. Dr. Samuel J. Williams, retired surgeon who has served on the Board since 2001, took his place as Co-Chairman alongside Dr. Robert F. Roth. Dr. Roth had been a plastic surgeon and a key member of the organization since its inception.

Also in the same year, Dr. Williams led the development of website When it became clear in 2010 that a more cost-effective and user-friendly website was needed for the organization was spawned and was set to roll out early February 2012. As with the first, this ambitious project particularly aimed to broaden our outreach to physicians, provide a current program calendar with online registration, and facilitate interaction between administrator, coordinators and Board members. The new website conveniently coincided with the new name and logo that was chosen for our organization in the fall of 2011.

Year 2008 saw growing dialogue and cooperation between our organization and VCOM. Late that summer, Dr. Roth, after 27 years of service to the organization, laid his Co-chairman mantle upon LewisGale pediatrician and VCOM faculty member Dr. David Berry. The shift to practicing physician Board membership became complete when Dr. Williams relinquished his Co-chairman position on January 1, 2009. With this, Dr. Berry became sole Chairman of our Board. He has served us admirably for more than three years.

The current four year accreditation of this organization was granted by the MSV in June 2017, an accomplishment of which we of CME of Southwestern Virginia can be justifiably proud.